Brought to you by:

ANZIIF names finalists for New Zealand awards  

The Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance (ANZIIF) has announced the finalists for its New Zealand Insurance Industry Awards. 

Last year’s General Insurance Company of the Year award winner, Vero, was again named a finalist, with AA Insurance, Chubb, and FMG rounding out candidates. 

Delta Insurance will also be in the running to repeat its win as Underwriting Agency of the Year, while Gallagher Bassett and Runacres were named as nominees for Claims Team of the Year.   

The event, which will be held on November 22 at the Cordis Hotel in Auckland, honours the work of NZ’s insurance industry members across 14 award categories.   

The awards follow a strenuous year for the industry in handling claims from Cyclone Gabrielle and the North Island floods, which have combined for $NZ3.5 billion ($3.22 billion) in insured losses.  

“The New Zealand insurance industry has faced an extraordinarily challenging year, at this year’s event, we will be commemorating the ongoing support our industry provides to its customers, communities, and workforce, while also acknowledging the exceptional accomplishments of the diverse talent present within our sector,” ANZIIF CEO Prue Willsford said.  

List of category finalists:  

Underwriting Agency of the Year - Delta Insurance, Underwriting Agencies of New Zealand 

General Insurance Company of the Year - AA Insurance, Chubb, FMG, Vero  

Claims Team of the Year - AA Insurance, Chubb, Gallagher Bassett, Runacres, Vero Life Insurance   

Insurtech Start-up of the Year - Bounce Insurance, InsuredHQ, Loop Logics, Morgan Project Services, Simfuni   

Professional Services Firm of the Year - Finity, McLarens New Zealand, Morgan Project Services, Sedgwick   

Service Provider to the Insurance Industry - IVAA, RedBook   

Excellence in Workplace Diversity and Inclusion - AIA, IAG, Zurich    

Excellence in Environmental, Social and Governance Change - AIA, Zurich    

Young Insurance Professional of the Year - George Dmitriev (Insurance Underwriters NZ), Isabelle Kwek (Wotton + Kearney), Leigh Bennett (Fidelity Life), Miro Doredvich (Delta Insurance)   

Company of the Year - Announced on the night    

Large Broking Company of the Year - Announced on the night    

Broker Network of the Year - Announced on the night    

Insurance Leader of the Year - Announced on the night   

ANZIIF Lifetime Achievement Award - Announced on the night