Brought to you by:

NIBA names Broker of the Year regional winners

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google

The National Insurance Brokers Association (NIBA) has announced the five regional Broker of the Year award winners at a virtual ceremony today.

The winners were: Connie Yang, Austbrokers ABS Strata (NSW/ACT); Lana Mawer, Austcover (Queensland); Max Cuzzocrea, Maxton Insurance Brokers (SA/NT); Steven Coltman, Adroit Insurance & Risk (Victoria) and Shelley Hymas, Phoenix Insurance Brokers (WA).

“The winners of these awards are the inspirational role models for our insurance broking community,” NIBA CEO Dallas Booth said.

The five recipients will compete for the Stephen Ball Memorial Award for Broker of the Year, sponsored by QBE, to be presented during the October 26-30 virtual convention.

NIBA earlier this year decided to continue the annual awards program in a different format despite the disruptions and challenges caused by the coronavirus outbreak.

“Regardless of that, brokers are out there working for their clients, they’re doing the very best they can in very difficult circumstances, and we are very pleased to recognise excellence in broking,” Mr Booth said today.

“The criteria for these awards are a demonstrated excellence in insurance broking and also a significant contribution to the broking community.”

Winners and finalists were acknowledged for their commitment to client advocacy, technical excellence, customer service and personal development, as well as their contributions within their teams and to the sector.

“There is an abundance of talented brokers across the country, so being named a finalist and a winner, especially in the current environment, is a truly outstanding achievement,” QBE Chief Customer Officer, Commercial Lines Jason Clarke said.

The full results, with the finalists, were as follows:


Winner: Connie Yang, Austbrokers ABS Strata

Finalist: Mary-Catherine Thomas, Aon


Winner: Lana Mawer, Austcover

Finalists: Jennifer Steger, Trade Risk; Robert Cooper, CPR Insurance Services


Winner: Max Cuzzocrea, Maxton Insurance Brokers

Finalist: Robert Fraser, Gallagher Alice Springs


Winner: Steven Coltman, Adroit Insurance & Risk

Finalists: James Skiadas, IMC Insurance Brokers; Michael Stewart, Stewart Insurance Group


Winner: Shelley Hymas, Phoenix Insurance Brokers

Finalists: Brian Martinovich, MBA Insurance Services; Michael Davis, Westside Insurance Specialists