Brought to you by:

Hollard takes two gongs at ANZIIF awards

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google

Hollard Insurance and Marsh have taken top gongs at this year’s Australian Insurance Industry Awards, the first ceremony in two years after the 2020 event was cancelled due to COVID.

More than 550 registered attendees tuned in to watch the awards ceremony online and see Hollard crowned Large General Insurance Company of the Year - a repeat win for the insurer in that category - and also be named winner for Excellence in Workplace Diversity and Inclusion.

Marsh was named Large Broking Company of the Year.

Now in their 17th year, the awards celebrate pursuit of excellence and exceptional dedication and the accomplishments of businesses and individuals across the Australian insurance industry. Categories include large broking company of the year, authorised representative group of the year and underwriting agency of the year.

CEO Paul Fahey says Hollard is humbled and honoured to be recognised and says a commitment to diversity and inclusion underpins the insurer’s approach.

“This ethos drives our family culture and ensures our people can bring their whole selves to work. It is great recognition for a team which, over two tumultuous years including a mix of catastrophes, COVID and regulatory change, always strived to look after our Hollardites and customers,” Mr Fahey said.

Marsh Pacific CEO Nick Harris says the award is a "huge honour". "This award goes to all my colleagues at Marsh who do a fabulous job day in day out across the region," he said.

"It has been an incredibly brutal year for everybody, four months of no haircuts in lockdown. I can’t wait to get out and see everybody and catch up with everybody."

Strata insurance specialist CHU was named top underwriting agency after wins for the same award in 2018 and 2017 and CHU CEO Kimberley Jonsson says the next five years will be about “ensuring our focus is squarely on our customers, with levels of service they haven't yet experienced in this market”.

“We are so proud and humbled to once again win this prestigious award,” Ms Jonsson said.

MetLife Australia won Life Insurer of the Year for the second time in a row. MetLife CEO Richard Nunn said the team was thrilled and incredibly proud.

“It’s fantastic to the recognised for all the hard work put in from everyone across the organisation,” Mr Nunn said. “We have consistently demonstrated our people-first approach, our commitment to our partners and customers, and our ability to adapt to the rapidly changing life insurance industry.”

Codafication, co-founded by MD Daniel Sandaver five years ago, won Insurtech of the Year for its Virtual Assist innovation which allows firms including Suncorp, IAG, Youi and Aon to complete claims assessments remotely via streaming and video triage without requiring a dedicated app and ensuring the highest standard of customer data use and security.

“We are over the moon to be recognised by our industry peers and ANZIIF with the award and have that recognition,” Mr Sandaver told today, thanking his team of almost 60 full-time employees and “all our amazing clients who have backed us”.

“Data sovereignty and security is paramount and our remote claims assessment technology, 'Virtual Assist' and claim management platform 'Crunchwork' have ensured business continuity for some of the largest insurers in Australia in the face of a global pandemic,” he said.

Former Victorian Managed Insurance Authority Head of Insurance Wayne Goodall was presented with the ANZIIF Lifetime Achievement Award while Sydney-based Sedgwick Business Development Manager Linh Nguyen was announced Young Insurance Professional of the Year.

“This is indeed an honour,” Mr Goodall said. “Like so many of us in this industry I fell into insurance when I left school and I have no regrets. I have witnessed an industry that is incredibly agile and innovative in providing insurance solutions and … had the pleasure and privilege of working with so many talented individuals.”

Damien Mu, AIA Australia and New Zealand CEO and MD and an ANZIIF board member, took out the Insurance Leader of the Year honour.

“I am truly humbled,” Mr Mu said in accepting the award. “I am passionate about the people in our industry who are all bound by a common purpose. We are all here to support Australians and assist them, usually at very difficult times. We’re not just there to pay a claim but to support them get back to a productive life.”

Insurance Advisernet won Authorised Representative Network of the Year.

“This is a wonderful testament to our business and the direction we collectively continue to take it on. A huge thanks to our Authorised Representatives and Industry partners, whom without, this would not be possible,” it said.

Guild Insurance won Small General Insurance Company of the Year.

“It is a great honour to be recognised for the continuous work and support we give our communities and the industry. We are dedicated to being there for our Association partners, their members and all of our customers,” Guild said on LinkedIn.

Here is the full list of 2021 ANZIIF Industry Award winners:

Small Broking Company of the Year | Trade Risk

Medium Broking Company of the Year | Warren Saunders Insurance Brokers

Large Broking Company of the Year | Marsh

Authorised Representative Network of the Year | Insurance Advisernet

Underwriting Agency of the Year | CHU Underwriting Agencies

Small General Insurance Company of the Year | Guild Insurance

Large General Insurance Company of the Year | Hollard Insurance

Life Insurance Company of the Year | MetLife Australia

Insurtech of the Year | Codafication

Professional Services Firm of the Year | Finity

Service Provider to the Insurance Industry | Paynters

Excellence in Workplace Diversity and Inclusion | Hollard Insurance

Insurance Learning Program of the Year | Sedgwick

Young Insurance Professional of the Year | Linh Nguyen, Sedgwick

Insurance Leader of the Year | Damien Mu

ANZIIF Lifetime Achievement Award | Wayne Goodall

Click here to watch the 2021 Australian Insurance Industry Awards.

New Zealand winners will be announced on November 17 at the Cordis in Auckland.