Brought to you by:
Liberty Specialty Markets
Liberty Specialty Markets

Steadfast, icare return for third Mansfield Awards

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google

Steadfast and Insurance & Care NSW (icare) have agreed to sponsor the Mansfield Awards for the third consecutive year.

The annual awards, which recognise claims excellence, are run on a non-profit basis by Insurance News and claims specialist company LMI. Any money left over from the event goes to charity.

The decision by the two original sponsors to again support the event underlines the importance both place on effective claims service within the insurance industry.

“The awards were conceived as a way to support awareness of the need for excellence in claims,” LMI MD Allan Manning said. “The sponsors’ continuing support enables us to continue in our efforts to celebrate the work of the professionals who work in the vitally important claims arm of the insurance industry.”

The Mansfield Awards – named after the British lord chief justice who introduced the concept of “utmost good faith” to insurance contracts in 1766 – continue to attract a large number of CEOs, claims managers and staff and claims service professionals.

Insurance News Publisher Terry McMullan says the continuing support of the awards by senior industry management is even more important in the wake of the Hayne royal commission.

“The work of claims professionals is under intense scrutiny,” he said. “What happens in the claims department has an enormous influence on the reputation of an insurance company.

“At all levels of the insurance industry we need to demonstrate commitment to claims excellence and confidence in the work of the professionals who every day handle thousands of claims.”

The awards are calculated using official reports and surveys conducted by LMI, with the results “weighted” so all insurers are viewed equally.

Invitations to this year’s event in Sydney on July 25 will be sent in coming weeks. Awards will again be presented for the best claims teams in personal lines, SME property and casualty, corporate property and casualty, and specialty.

The company with the highest number of points will win the Gold Mansfield Award for overall excellence in claims. Last year the winner of the Gold Mansfield for best overall performance was Allianz.

Click here for more information.